Skip to content ↓

Early Years

The EYFS Framework

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development from birth to 5 years. The full document can be found please click here

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 17 areas of learning and developing which come under the 7 different educational programmes as listed below:

Communication and Language:

  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking

Personal, Social and Emotional Development:

  • Self-Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships
  • Physical Development:
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills


  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing


  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns

Understanding the World:

  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World

Expressive Arts and Design:

  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive