Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Board

The Local Governing Committee provides strategic leadership and accountability for the school, reporting to the Collaborative Learning Trust Board. It has three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

Governors set the aims and objectives for the school and set the policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. They monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making and act as a source of challenge and support to the headteacher.

In action, this means:

  • Appointing and performance reviewing the head teacher, including making decisions about pay
  • Managing budgets and deciding how money is spent
  • Engaging with pupils, staff, parents and the school community
  • Sitting on panels and making decisions about things like pupil exclusions and staff disciplinary
  • Addressing a range of education issues within the school including disadvantaged pupils, pupils with special needs, staff workload and teacher recruitment
  • Looking at data and evidence to ask questions and have challenging conversations about the school

The Local Governing Committee buys into the local authority clerking and Governor support services in order to ensure governors are well-supported in their work.


The school’s Local Governing Committee consists of 8 governors:

  • 2 parent governors
  • 1 staff governor
  • The head teacher
  • 1 foundation governor 
  • 5 co-opted governors
Local Governor Appointment Appointment start date End of Term Role
Angela Smith Co-opted Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 SEND Lead
Derek Jones Foundation Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Safeguarding Lead
Helen Jones Foundation Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Chair
Janet Firth Co-opted Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Foundation Governor
Jenny Williams Staff Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Staff Governor
Kathryn Shaw Headteacher 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Headteacher
Mohammed Al-Ghurbani Parent Governor 1 September 2022 31 August 2026 Parent Governor
David Blair Co-opted Governor 28 September 2023 31 August 2027 Vice Chair  
Ann Davie                          



27 November


31 August




Aishah Javed Parent Governor 27 November 2023

31 August


Parent Governor

The full Local Governing Committee meets at least once a term. ‘All Saints Governing Committee reports to the Collaborative Learning Trust Board.

To find out about the Governance of the Collaborative Learning Trust, please see the Collaborative Learning Trust section of the website.

For the full list of current and historic governors registered on GOV.UK, please click here.

There are three headteacher performance management governors who work with an external consultant to performance manage the work of the head teacher.

In addition, individual named governors are responsible for overseeing the following key areas:

  • Safeguarding and Child Protection
  • Special Needs, Disability, Looked after children, Gifted and Talented children
  • School, parish church and diocesan links
  • Pupil Premium and Disadvantaged Pupils
  • Schools forum, Governing Training and Development
  • Behaviour and Attitudes

These governors report to the full local governing committee and/or the relevant sub-committee. Please see the Collaborative Learning Trust Scheme of Delegation, which includes the Local Governing Committee’s Terms of Reference.

Governors are elected for a term of four years. If you would be interested in becoming a governor, please ask any of the governors or the headteacher for more information. 

To contact our Chair of Governors, Helen Jones, please contact